Hiroshi Fujimoto, Ph.D.


The University of Tokyo

Department of Advanced Energy, Graduate School of Frontier Sciences

Department of Electrical Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering

Biography :

Hiroshi Fujimoto obtained his Ph.D. degree in the Department of Electrical Engineering from the University of Tokyo in 2001.

His first job was a research associate at the Department of Electrical Engineering, Nagaoka University of Technology, Niigata, Japan. From 2002 to 2003, he was a visiting scholar in the School of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University, U.S.A.

In 2004, he joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Yokohama National University, Yokohama, Japan, as a lecturer and he became an associate professor in the following year. He had been an associate professor of the University of Tokyo from 2010 to 2020.

Now, he is a professor of both Advanced Engineering at the Graduate School of Frontier Sciences and Electrical Engineering at the Graduate School of Engineering, University of Tokyo .

He received the Best Paper Awards from the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics in 2001 and 2013, Isao Takahashi Power Electronics Award in 2010, Best Author Prize of SICE in 2010, The Nagamori Grand Award in 2016, and First Prize Paper Award IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics in 2016.

His has had a longstanding interests in control engineering, motion control, nano-scale servo systems, electric vehicle control, motor drive, visual servoing, and wireless motors. Dr. Fujimoto is a senior member of IEE of Japan and IEEE. He is also a member of the Society of Instrument and Control Engineers, the Robotics Society of Japan, and the Society of Automotive Engineers of Japan.

He is an associate editor of IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics from 2010 to 2014, IEEE Industrial Electronics Magazine from 2006, IEE of Japan Transactions on Industrial Application from 2013, and Transactions on SICE from 2013 to 2016. He is a chairperson of JSAE vehicle electrification committee from 2014 to 2020 and a past chairperson of IEEE/IES Technical Committee on Motion Control from 2012 to 2013.