Hiroshi  Fujimoto, Ph.D.

Professor, IEEE Fellow

The University of Tokyo 

Department of Advanced Energy, Graduate School of Frontier Sciences

Department of Electrical Engineering, Graduate School of Engineering 

Biography :  

Hiroshi Fujimoto received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the Department of Electrical Engineering, The University of Tokyo,  Japan, in 2001.

In 2001, he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, Nagaoka University of Technology, Niigata, Japan, as a Research Associate. From 2002 to 2003, he was a Visiting Scholar with the School of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA. In 2004, he joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Yokohama National University, Yokohama, Japan, as a Lecturer, and became an Associate Professor in 2005. He was an Associate Professor with The University of Tokyo from 2010 to 2020 and has been a Professor since 2021. His interests include control engineering, motion control, nanoscale servo systems, electric vehicle control, motor drive, visual servoing, and wireless power transfer.

Dr. Fujimoto was a recipient of the Best Paper Award from the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INDUSTRIAL ELECTRONICS in 2001 and 2013, Isao Takahashi Power Electronics Award in 2010, Best Author Prize of SICE in 2010, the Nagamori Grand Award in 2016, First Prize Paper Award for the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON POWER ELECTRONICS in 2016, and IEEJ Industry Applications Society Distinguished Transaction Paper Award in 2018 and 2023. He is a Fellow of IEEE  and Senior Member of IEEJ. He is also a member of the Society of Instrument and Control Engineers, Robotics Society of Japan, and Society of Automotive Engineers of Japan. He has been a Senior Editor for the IEEE/ASME TRANSACTIONS ON MECHATRONICS since 2022 and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Industrial Electronics Magazine since 2006. He has been a Chairperson of the JSAE Technology Board since 2022 and was a past Chairperson of the IEEE/IES Technical Committee on Motion Control from 2012 to 2013 and the JSAE vehicle electrification committee from 2014 to 2020.